Eglise Saint Caprais

The parish church dates back to the late 15th century or the very early 16th century, with the exception of the side chapels, which are a little more recent, and the last two bays, which were built in about 1780.


Inside, visitors can see a pietà painted by Guy François (17th century); a fine alabaster statue of the Virgin attributed to a Burgundian sculptor from the 15th century; the pulpit and wooden decorations in the choir, the work of Gabriel Samuel (1735), which were unfortunately damaged by revolutionaries, and lastly a series of stained-glass windows (1865-66) by Emile Thibaud, representing the legend of Saint Caprasius, in the choir and over the western portal.

Languages spoken

  • French


  • Religious heritage
  • Church



Free access.


All year round, daily between 8.30 am and 6 pm.


1 place croix de mission
43500 Craponne-sur-Arzon